The Aftermath of Christmas

Standard

Like so many, I got caught up in the craziness of Christmas and ate A LOT!

Unlike so many, I am not waiting for the New Year to get back to business.

Christmas day was spent reflecting on the past year and remembering all the promises I made to myself which were broken, all the goals which were made and not met, and the self loathing which resulted.

About two weeks ago I decided enough is enough. The Fairy Godmother is not going to wave her magic wand and make years of self-destruction disappear. I also am not going to meet any of those goals by writing them alone. Yes, I know it is a shock to everyone that writing something down does not make it so. You mean I have to actually work at it?

Let’s take my 5K in February goal. To be fair, when I set that goal (in April) I was working out and feeling good. I thought that if I set the goal far enough in the future, that I would have no problem meeting that goal. I mean, 10 months is more than enough time to get in shape for a 5K even at my size, right? Here are the problems with that thought process:

  • 10 months leaves you plenty of time for procrastination (if you are a procrastinator like me)
  • The month delay also made it feel not real for some reason
  • I announced the goal to the world, set up a FaceBook page just for that goal with accountability in mind. For some reason this did the opposite and I put a lot of pressure on myself. I gave up before I even gave myself a chance.
  • I let life get in the way and took my eye off the goal because it was something I could “worry about later”

Let me just put it out there publicly. The 5K goal in February (which I signed up for and paid for by the way) is more than likely not going to happen. I am not being a pessimist nor am I giving up on myself. I am telling you that with just a little over a month to go, I can barely walk a mile without pain.

Here is a clear-cut, very short-term goal to take myself into the new year:

For the remainder of 2011 and the month of January I will not eat my emotions or my stress. I am finding better ways to deal with life.

As my co-worker has told me, exercise is the not only an excellent way for her to deal with her stress, but the only way. I already knew that, but it is about time I actually apply the knowledge.

How have I dealt with the aftermath of Christmas? I have not let the loss of control actually control me. I took control back and I am on my way to healthy!

About Diana

At 43 years old I have missed out on so much in life because I was too busy obsessing about my weight. Having spent so many years on the weight roller coaster, I have decided to just live and enjoy the journey instead of putting everything on hold for "someday when I am skinny". I am applying a few priciples that will allow me to just enjoy life: 1~ Drink my water. 2~ Enjoy my food 3~ Don't deprive myself of anything- portion control is my motto 4~ Throw the scale away (OK, I can't bring myself to throw it away,but I am giving it to my teenage son to hide from me) 5~ This one is the most important: LIVE LIFE!

Leave a Reply

