Oatmeal and Coffee oh My!

Standard

My standard breakfast this past week has become oatmeal and coffee. It has only been a few days since I signed up for Weight Watchers Online again, but I can tell you I am already feeling better and sleeping better.

I needed a quick, healthy breakfast which I could easily prepare at work, but would keep me satisfied until lunch time. I have had success with oatmeal in the past, but I wanted something I could just grab without preparation. That leaves me two options:

Frankly, instant oatmeal packets may be convenient, but they are far from my idea of tasty or healthy. So, I created my own “instant” oatmeal mixture to get me through the week. Add some almond milk and cook and I have a healthy, satisfying breakfast in minutes. Couple that with a cup of coffee, no cream and two Splendas, I am a happy girl. Here is the recipe for my oatmeal mixture:

(One 3/4 Cup serving is 6 Weight Watchers Points Plus Value and if you prepare it with 1 1/3 C unsweetened almond milk it takes the PointsPlus Value to 8.)

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 cup(s) Quaker Old fashioned oats, dry   
  • 1/2 cup(s) dried mixed fruit, diced   
  • 6 Tbsp sugar substitute   
  • 4 Tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp table salt   

Instructions

  • Mix all ingredients and store in plastic container. Makes 6 3/4  Cup servings.
  • To cook: combine with 1 1/3 cups hot liquid (water, milk, soy milk, etc) and let sit to desired consistency.

***Please note: this is a rather large serving. I am a rather large lady… as my waist size shrinks, I intend to cut the serving size. Customize it to your tastes and appetite. 🙂

To make this completely grab and go store individual servings in zip-seal type snack bags. Your own instant oatmeal packs in a jiffy!

About Diana

At 43 years old I have missed out on so much in life because I was too busy obsessing about my weight. Having spent so many years on the weight roller coaster, I have decided to just live and enjoy the journey instead of putting everything on hold for "someday when I am skinny". I am applying a few priciples that will allow me to just enjoy life: 1~ Drink my water. 2~ Enjoy my food 3~ Don't deprive myself of anything- portion control is my motto 4~ Throw the scale away (OK, I can't bring myself to throw it away,but I am giving it to my teenage son to hide from me) 5~ This one is the most important: LIVE LIFE!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

