Barriers to Your Success

Standard

“Most barriers to your success are man-made. And most often, you’re the man who made them.” – Frank Tyger

This was yesterday’s message which was shared on the calendar I purchased from SparkPeople. Last year I joined SparkPeople and loved all their tools and the community there. I religiously tracked my food, blogged, read other people’s blogs, and interacted in the community. Doing this, I lost about 30 pounds or so in 2 months.

I am one of those who has read countless books and joined many programs to lose weight. I, like so many others, know exactly what it takes to lose weight. Pretty much every program, web site, book, and gimmick boil down to the same thing:

Fewer calories + more exercise = weight loss.

They all have different opinions as to how to achieve that and they call it different things. Whether you are taking a low-carb, low-fat, vegetarian, or counting calorie approach you must consume fewer calories than you are burning as fuel to lose weight. In my case, it is a lot easier said than done. I know that when I track my food I lose weight. I also know that when I track my food I become overly obsessive and I am always hungry. The end result is I eventually can’t stand it and I abandon the thought completely after having a huge binge because I just can’t stand it anymore.

Back to last year. My breaking point was Thanksgiving. By the time the holiday came around, I had been religiously tracking my food and was feeling pretty good about myself. Then came the big day and I just could not stop. I felt so horrible the day after that I just figured I would start tracking the following week. I am pretty sure you can all guess where it went from there. Here I am a year later and I have gained all of it back AND I am faced with Thanksgiving tomorrow.

This is my game plan: I am going to enjoy my family, pay attention to my body and not overeat, and not stress about it. If I stress about it I will become my own obstacle and I will end up feeling worse.

Wishing all of you a very Happy Thanksgiving with your families.

About Diana

At 43 years old I have missed out on so much in life because I was too busy obsessing about my weight. Having spent so many years on the weight roller coaster, I have decided to just live and enjoy the journey instead of putting everything on hold for "someday when I am skinny". I am applying a few priciples that will allow me to just enjoy life: 1~ Drink my water. 2~ Enjoy my food 3~ Don't deprive myself of anything- portion control is my motto 4~ Throw the scale away (OK, I can't bring myself to throw it away,but I am giving it to my teenage son to hide from me) 5~ This one is the most important: LIVE LIFE!

Leave a Reply

