Crockpot Oatmeal

Standard

Last night I made some of my crock pot oatmeal for the week. This is the perfect breakfast for those on the go. It keeps for several days in the refrigerator and re-heats beautifully in the microwave.

I know, I made yogurt Saturday for the week. But what can I say? I love breakfast! I do have my moments where I eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Today, I had my oatmeal for breakfast, brought yogurt for my snack, and I have left over chinese for lunch. Yes, I am having chinese take-out for lunch. Last week I would have watched my family eat the take out, ate my little “healthy dinner” on the side then snuck their left overs later because I just could not stand it. Last night, I ate chinese without guilt. Here is how I kept it within reason and left the dinner table with no guilt:

  • I served myself a reasonable portion and moved the containers away from my seat
  • I ate slowly and really enjoyed the food
  • Instead of soda, I drank water with my meal.

I was completely satisfied with my portion, did not go back for seconds, and enjoyed a meal with my family. No guilt or resentments! It has been less than a week since I decided to focus more on life than all the numbers, but I am already reconnecting with my family, sleeping better, and feeling a lot less pressure.

About Diana

At 43 years old I have missed out on so much in life because I was too busy obsessing about my weight. Having spent so many years on the weight roller coaster, I have decided to just live and enjoy the journey instead of putting everything on hold for "someday when I am skinny". I am applying a few priciples that will allow me to just enjoy life: 1~ Drink my water. 2~ Enjoy my food 3~ Don't deprive myself of anything- portion control is my motto 4~ Throw the scale away (OK, I can't bring myself to throw it away,but I am giving it to my teenage son to hide from me) 5~ This one is the most important: LIVE LIFE!

One response »

Leave a Reply

