Happiness…… is a Choice?!

Standard

It is amazing how the whole world just seems brighter when you choose to be happy.

What is that you say? Happy is a choice? That’s just plain crazy! Nope, I have not lost my mind, but I have decided that happiness is a choice. So many years were wasted being unhappy that I just got tired of being alive, but not living. That is when the little light bulb went off in my mind and I decided that life is way too precious to spend it unhappy just because I did not like myself. What am I doing to change it?

Well, for starters, I am not beating myself up for letting myself get into my current physical condition anymore. It seems the more I dwell on it, the larger and sicker I get. I have chosen to focus on what makes me happy instead of what makes me unhappy and my body will reflect the happiness just as it has shown the self-loathing all these years.

I was able to get myself out of bed, get ready for work, and get to work with a smile on my face. I also had my breakfast, morning snack, and lunch WITHOUT logging it or counting calories. To my amazement, I am not hungry or wanting to just snack all day like I did before. All because I told myself that today was going to be a good day and I was going to focus only on being happy and anything that threatened that plan was going to be discarded.

So, I am planning my weekend so it includes at least one thing that I was putting off for the “someday”. What will it be? Any suggestions for a girl who has refused to try anything new for her entire life?

About Diana

At 43 years old I have missed out on so much in life because I was too busy obsessing about my weight. Having spent so many years on the weight roller coaster, I have decided to just live and enjoy the journey instead of putting everything on hold for "someday when I am skinny". I am applying a few priciples that will allow me to just enjoy life: 1~ Drink my water. 2~ Enjoy my food 3~ Don't deprive myself of anything- portion control is my motto 4~ Throw the scale away (OK, I can't bring myself to throw it away,but I am giving it to my teenage son to hide from me) 5~ This one is the most important: LIVE LIFE!

One response »

  1. Absolutely happiness is a choice!! I’m so glad you have found your way to that discovery. I discovered that little secret back in March, and you know what it has done for me. I hope you find something this weekend to make you feel good.

Leave a Reply

