Why I am Kicking the Scale!

Standard

Welcome to my new blog! Over the years I have tried everything imaginable to lose weight. If you can name a “diet”, I have probably tried it. Weight Watchers, pills, shakes, low-carb, low-fat, no sugar, cabbage soup, and the list goes on and on. It is amazing what we will do to lose weight. The truth of the matter is, every single time I really put my mind to it, I lost weight. I also gained it all back the moment I hit a rough patch in the road.

I have a real problem with the way the word “diet” is used. The intent of using the word is to describe one’s food intake normally and somehow society has come to use it in a way which indicates that one is depriving themself of pleasure.

For the last 40+ years I have become obsessed with numbers. What is the number on the scale, the number of calories, the number of fat grams, the number of carbs, etc. Do you want to know what numbers I don’t know? I don’t know the number of times I let my kids down because I could not walk to the park with them. I have absolutely no idea the number of laughs, smiles, giggles, hugs, and memories I have lost because of my inability or unwillingness to try to be active with my children. I am not real sure how many job opportunities were missed because I did not have the confidence to even try.

I am done with numbers! The more I focus on them, the more my life spins out of control. I am no longer waiting for the day that I am “skinny” to participate in life and enjoy my family. I am now a Grandmother and I do not want my grandchildren to remember as the old lady who sat on the couch and watched them all the time.

Here is what I am going to do about it. I have kicked the scale to the curb. That number no longer defines me! I am no longer going to obsess about writing down every little morsel of food that goes in my mouth. That becomes counter-productive and takes away from the enjoyment of food. I am no longer going to eat separately from my family just because they don’t like vegetables. I am going to enjoy meal time with them. I am no longer going to deprive myself of foods I like and force myself to eat something that just does not taste good to me.

I plan on eating like a person who is living and not dying.  I will teach myself to listen to my body and give it exactly what it needs. If I live like a healthy person, my body will eventually catch up. I don’t care if it takes me 10 years to lose the 185 pounds I need to shed. It took me 43 years to get this way, so I owe it to myself to be patient.

I vow to move every day. Whether it is mopping the floor or just turning on the tunes and dancing in my living room like a crazy lady, I will no longer just sit on the couch and watch my life slowly drain from me. Follow along on my journey. I welcome all input and suggestions.

About Diana

At 43 years old I have missed out on so much in life because I was too busy obsessing about my weight. Having spent so many years on the weight roller coaster, I have decided to just live and enjoy the journey instead of putting everything on hold for "someday when I am skinny". I am applying a few priciples that will allow me to just enjoy life: 1~ Drink my water. 2~ Enjoy my food 3~ Don't deprive myself of anything- portion control is my motto 4~ Throw the scale away (OK, I can't bring myself to throw it away,but I am giving it to my teenage son to hide from me) 5~ This one is the most important: LIVE LIFE!

One response »

  1. Diana,

    Well said and well written. You and I have been in so many of the same places and situations. Good luck to you and I’m always here if you need an ear.

Leave a Reply

